恐龍,尖尖的哺乳動物在恐龍中肆虐

101615_ht_fuzzymammal_free

MESOZOIC MAMMAL Spinolestes xenarthrosus在數百萬年前生活了125,體重與負鼠一樣多,可能看起來像今天的小型哺乳動物。

當鱗片充滿憤怒時,一個早期的哺乳動物會穿著毛皮和刺。

西班牙中部出土的新發現的小型哺乳動物的骨架,命名為Spinolestes xenarthrosus,可追溯到125萬年前,德國波恩大學的古生物學家托馬斯·馬丁及其同事在10月15自然報導。 當時,恐龍主導了景觀。

總而言之,S。xenarthrosus類似於一種非常普通的哺乳動物。 刺猬像刺猬一樣排成一排,為掠食者提供保護。 24厘米長的哺乳動物的手骨似乎優化用於挖掘昆蟲。

這個特殊的早白堊世毛球在史前沼澤中結束,保留了一些皮膚,頭髮,刺,甚至器官 - 耳朵,肺和肝臟的一部分。 這些樣本代表了最早保存完好的哺乳動物毛髮和軟組織,其排名在第二個60百萬年之後。 古代標本表明,在哺乳動物進化的早期出現了像下腹部皮毛和脊柱這樣的特徵。

完整的骨架

FOSSIL FUZZ除了完整的骨骼外,S。xenarthrosus標本還含有皮膚,毛髮和刺的斑塊,可以深入了解這些結構在哺乳動物中的發育情況。

0 回复

發表評論

要加入討論?
隨意貢獻!

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

本網站使用Akismet來減少垃圾郵件。 了解您的評論如何處理.

Furry, spiky mammal scampered among dinosaurs


MESOZOIC MAMMAL Spinolestes xenarthrosus lived 125 million years ago, weighed about as much as a possum and probably looked like small mammals do today.

When scales were all the rage, one early mammal sported fur and spines.

Unearthed in central Spain, a skeleton of the newly discovered small mammal, christened Spinolestes xenarthrosus, dates to 125 million years ago, paleontologist Thomas Martin of the University of Bonn in Germany and colleagues report in the Oct. 15 Nature. At the time, dinosaurs dominated the landscape.

All in all, S. xenarthrosus resembled a pretty ordinary mammal. Spikes like a hedgehog’s lined its back and provided protection from predators. The hand bones of the 24-centimeter-long mammal appear optimized for digging for insects.

This particular early Cretaceous fur ball met its end in a prehistoric swamp that preserved some skin, hair, spines and even organs — parts of an ear, lungs and liver. These samples represent the earliest well-preserved mammal hair and soft tissue, having outlasted the next in line by about 60 million years. The ancient specimen suggests that features like underbelly fur and spines appeared early in mammal evolution.

full skeleton

FOSSIL FUZZ In addition to a full skeleton, an S. xenarthrosus specimen contains patches of skin, hairs and spines, lending insight into how these structures developed in mammals.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *